Car Accident Law General Information
There are many factors that can come into play when car accidents happen. In certain cases, violation of particular codes of Georgia driving law allows the injured party to make a claim or bring a suit for negligence per se, which is negligence that occurs when an at-fault party violates a public duty. This section will outline the motor vehicle laws of Georgia and how those laws impact the rights of injured victims. Following is a partial list of Department of Motor vehicle codes, as well as damages for which recovery may be made under the laws of Georgia, for car accidents occurring in metro Atlanta counties, such as DeKalb, Fulton and Gwinnett, as well as throughout the state.
Georgia laws and codes governing motor vehicle accidents typically permit those injured in Georgia car accidents to either retain a car accident attorney or represent themselves in bringing a claim or lawsuit against the at-fault party in an attempt to recover for damages incurred as a result of their accident.Minimum Insurance Coverage of 25/50/25 is required under Georgia Law
Frequently Asked Question: What Is 25/50/25? Answer: An abbreviation commonly used by insurance companies when referring to the minimum liability insurance coverage required for motor vehicles in Georgia: Coverage of $25,000 must be carried for compensation to one injured individual for bodily injuries and/or death arising from a motor vehicle accident; Coverage of $50,000 must be carried for compensation of more than one injured individual for bodily injuries and/or death in the event that the total bills and damages for all injured parties in the car equals or exceeds $50,000; Coverage of $25,000 must be carried for compensation for property damage claims asserted against you by the other party per motor vehicle accident.Additional Insurance Options Not Required under Georgia Law But Necessary to Protect Your Interests
One option available to Georgia drivers is comprehensive coverage, which allows the insured to recover for vehicular damage caused by non-collision events, such as vandalism, weather and fire. Conversely, collision coverage provides compensation for property damage sustained in an accident, or payment of the cash value of the vehicle should it not be able to be repaired. Georgia drivers are also offered the option of adding Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UM/UIM) to their policy. This insurance option provides coverage for an injured party in the event that the at-fault party either does not have insurance or does not carry insurance limits sufficient enough to reimbursement the injured party for all of his or her damages. Supplemental medical payment coverage, which is added to a policy for the purpose of payment up to a pre-determined amount for reasonable medical expenses incurred in connection with a motor vehicle accident, is also available through many insurers.
No matter which supplemental insurance options you may chose, as a Georgia driver, you are legally obligated to carry the statutory minimum liability insurance limits of 25/50/25.